Summer Guide Cape Cod

Summer Guide Cape Cod 2020

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 127 of 147 126 27 Today visitors that are interested in travelling to the Cape by train can hop on the CapeFlyer, a weekend-only train service that opened in the spring of 2013. It is the most recent train installment to carry passengers from Boston to Cape Cod, and the first to run on the Old Colony Main Line since 1959. Visitors can catch the CapeFlyer between Memorial Day weekend and Labor Day weekend. Of all the historical treasures Dennis has to offer, the brightest gems are its old buildings. Visitors can peek into 1693 through the Josiah Dennis Manse & Museum, the salt box house that was bought for Reverend Josiah Dennis in the 18th century, located at 77 Nob- scussett Road in Dennis. The house contains relics that demonstrate how 18th and 19th century Dennis folks lived, including a "May- flower chest" and collection of furnishings. This museum holds events through December, including historic time-performances done by costumed interpreters. Visitors can also tap into more Dennis history at the 1801 Jericho House & Barn Museum, a Cape-style house built with a bowed roof by sea captain Theophilus Baker, located at 90 Old Main Street in West Dennis. The museum got its name after it was purchased in 1955 by Elizabeth Reynard – "Jericho," because its walls were falling down. This summer, the museum will host the exhibit "Growing Up in Dennis in the 1800s," and give tours of the building led by costumed guides. Bass River Lighthouse, located on Lighthouse Road in West Dennis will give visitors a glimpse of 1855. The lighthouse had view range of 12 miles and flashed a white light every six seconds for 60 years for the fishing and packet fleets. It was acquired as a private residence in 1933, then later developed into the Lighthouse Inn. Visitors can still make reservations at the inn for their Dennis getaway today. Visitors can also wander through the Old West Schoolhouse, located at Whig Street and Nobscusset Road in Dennis Village, call 508- 398-2232, the oldest one-room schoolhouse in town, or stop in at the West Dennis Library, located at 260 Main Street, to hear the story of Wixon Innovation School's 13-star flag, located at 901 Massachusetts 134, South Dennis, call 508-398-7695. Whether you plan on poking through Josiah Dennis's old home or reserving a room at the Lighthouse Inn for your 2015 vacation, you will find splashes of Dennis history everywhere. Year-round folks are proud of their vil- lages' past, and welcome visitors to learn about it during their stay. Phyllis Horton, Dennis native and curator/ archivist for the Dennis Historical Society says the people in town work hard to maintain Dennis's historic aspects and seaside character. "We're trying to keep the town looking as it did in the early days," she said. "Old houses are loved and cared for, and they retain the old character of the neighborhood. Many people have moved here because of our Cape Cod character."• The Nobscusset Hotel hosted summer guests as early as 1872. The hotel, which was located on the bluff that is today's Bay View Beach, could house up to 200 guests at a time, and cost $15 to $25 to rent for a week. The hotel featured three cottages, horse stables, a 9-hole golf course, a billiards room, bowling alleys, and a long pier and pavilion that extended into Cape Cod Bay. However, due to the Great Depression, the hotel closed in 1930. Shortly after the hotel closed it was dismantled, the cottages were sold and the remaining land was split up and sold as house plots.* * Info courtesy "Summer by the Seaside: The Architecture of New England Coastal Resort Hotels 1820-1950" by Bryant Franklin Tolles Nobscusset Hotel 2020

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Summer Guide Cape Cod - Summer Guide Cape Cod 2020